My Weekly Update – What the Heck is it?

What the Heck is it?

Hint: It’s not a science fair project.

I have lived in China for over 5 years and, I have eaten my share of weird stuff.  Coagulated pigs blood, anyone. But, this ‘what ever the heck it is’ was a first for me.  So, I decided to use it to spur on a little competition.  Can you guess what this is and/or what’s in it? 

If so, I would be happy to beta read, edit or critique a short story or one chapter of your WIP.

I beta read a story for one of my blog friends and really enjoyed it and learned a lot. And, I am testing out my edit and critique chops, so we all win here.

I will keep this contest open for a week.  And, if no one can guess what it is, I will take the most creative answer.  Have fun.

The Posts

Ava Jae wrote a great post on How to Read Your Writing Objectively.  Great read for me as I will tackle the art of editing my first novel in September.

Jeff Goins posted My Morning Routine in 10 Simple Steps this week.  My biggest struggle is getting going in the morning.  I need a routine.  The post includes several links to other writer’s morning routines.  The one thing they all have in common, waking up early.  Why can’t a morning routine start at 11:00 am?  It’s still morning.

A general shout out to Wise, Ink. An indie Author’s Best Kept Secret ( I hope it is ok to tell). They are a great resource for any and all things writerly and recently posted two articles to help us Authorpreneurs.

New Followers
Elana Millman at Man on Top
Jeni at Joy and Woe
Vergielyn Cubol
JB Rowley
Ronald DeStefano
Donnie Dark O Girl
Give More Get More
 
Next Weeks Schedule – I seemed to have moved Friday post to early Saturday morning.  Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something.
Tuesday – Tattoo Tuesday – A proud mother shares her son’s art work
Thursday – Sydney Quotes the Movies –
Friday/Saturday – Blog Post
Sunday – My Weekly Update – Look at goals for September and I need to have put a dent into my Campnano WiP or I am toast. 

13 thoughts on “My Weekly Update – What the Heck is it?

    1. Great guess. Cowboycowden got it right. It is red beans, green beans, pineapple and pears over shaved ice and condensed milk poured over the whole things. It was interesting to eat.

  1. Baobing! It’s called Pat Bing Su in South Korea, where I lived for almost 4 years. They write songs about this stuff over there. Shaved ice, sweet beans (pat), and fruit. Not exactly my cup of tea.

    1. Impressive. It didn’t taste as bad as it look. My friend who was with us was from Korea and he was so excited. It was fun watching him enjoy it. What brought you to South Korea for four years?

      1. I taught at an English academy in Seoul. I saw quite a lot of Asia while I was there. I miss it.

    1. That’s what I thought when I first saw it. Science Fair Volcano projects. If I have a kid and need to make him one, this will be the route I would take. It’s perfect.

Leave a comment